Research

Main content

Research

Architectural research at the D-ARCH is genuinely interdisciplinary. The experiences of the past, analysis of the present and research investing in the future constitute the basis of thought and thus of all research and teaching activities at the Department of Architecture. Depending on the perspective and the question posed, methods from the social sciences, the humanities, engineering, as well as the material and spatial sciences are brought into play. Our research focuses on the fundamental question: How shall we plan and build the homes and cities of the future?

Research in Teaching

Complementary disciplines such as urban design, landscape architecture, history, theory, technology, building conservation, etc. are taught simultaneously and throughout the entire course of study. They establish the basis for a sound understanding of architecture and contribute significantly to the professional abilities of the young architects.

Research in Practice

In the tradition of a technical university, the Department of Architecture goes beyond basic research by conducting applied research, too. This research-to-practice principle establishes close ties to practical applications. Our focus lies on exploring present and future societal needs and responding to them by offering concrete solutions.

 
 
Page URL: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/en/forschung.html
Wed Mar 29 15:17:15 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich

Forschung

Main content

Forschung D-ARCH

Die Architekturforschung am Departement Architektur ist genuin interdisziplinär ausgerichtet. Die Erfahrungen der Vergangenheit, die Auseinandersetzung mit der Gegenwart und das Forschen für die Zukunft bilden die Grundlage des Denkens und somit der Lehr- und Forschungsaktivitäten am D-ARCH. Je nach Blickwinkel und Fragestellung kommen sozial-, geistes-, ingenieur-, material- und raumwissenschaftliche Methoden zur Anwendung. Unser Erkenntnisinteresse gilt der fundamentalen Frage: Wie planen und bauen wir die Behausungen und Städte in der Zukunft?

Forschung in der Lehre

Parallel zum Unterricht in Entwurf und Konstruktion werden während der gesamten Architekturausbildung die komplementären Disziplinen wie Städtebau, Landschaftsarchitektur, Geschichte, Theorie, Technologie, Denkmalpflege etc. unterrichtet. So wird die Basis für ein fundiertes Architekturverständnis geschaffen, das zur beruflichen Befähigung der jungen Architektinnen und Architekten einen wesentlichen Beitrag leistet.

Forschung in der Praxis

In der Tradition einer technischen Hochschule betreibt das Departement Architektur neben der Grundlagen- auch angewandte Forschung. Dieses Research-to-Practice-Prinzip schafft einen deutlichen Bezug zur Anwendung. Es ist unsere Stärke, gegenwärtige wie zukünftige gesellschaftliche Bedürfnisse zu erforschen und konkrete Lösungen anzubieten.

 
 
URL der Seite: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/forschung.html
Sat Feb 25 02:08:25 CET 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich