D-ARCH at Venice Biennale 2016

Main content

Limestone structure_Block Research Group
Limestone structure
© ETH Zurich / Block Research Group

How can architecture improve the lives of people around the world? This year's International Architecture Exhibition - La Biennale di Venezia examines this question – is also the focus of many ETH Zurich researchers. For this and many other reasons, the programme for the 15th International Architecture Exhibition includes several installations and exhibitions that represent ETH Zurich.

The Block Research Group (BRG) led by Professor Philippe Block uses historical knowledge to combine the analysis of masonry structures with modern manufacturing and construction technologies. The results can be seen in the Beyond Bending exhibition, which shows how forces, like compression, can be used to achieve maximum stability with minimal materials. Furthermore, the Block Research Group makes a significant contribution to the Droneport project initiated by Lord Norman Foster.

Professors Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, as well as guest lecturers Anna Heringer and Martin Rauch, also have projects in the main exhibition.

Christian Kerez is not only represented in the main exhibition, but also has the honour of presenting his interdisciplinary project: Incidental Space in the Swiss Pavilion. The project explores new technological possibilities in architecture and questions habitual thought patterns.

Professor Dirk Hebel is taking part in the Time-Space-Existence exhibition, a collateral Biennale event held at Palazzo Mora. His installation shows how alternative building materials such as bamboo or fungal structures can be used in specific environments, depending on the local availability of material, human capital, and skills.

The professors Alfredo Brillembourg and Hubert Klumpner are also involved in this year's International Architecture Exhibition. The project «Sarajevo Now: The People's Museum» is presented by Urban-Think Tank and Baier Bischofberger, in partnership with the Historical Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina at Arsenale Nord.

The 15th International Architecture Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia, themed “Reporting from the Front”, will take place from 28 May to 27 November 2016 and is directed by Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena.

Read more about the projects «Beyond Bending», «Droneport» and «Daring Growth» from Philippe Block and Dirk Hebel in the background information of ETH Zürich.
Further information about Christian Kerez' projekt «Incidental Space» you find on the website of  Pro Helvetia.

 
 
Page URL: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/en/lehre-forschung/DARCH_an_biennale_venedig.html
Wed Mar 29 15:15:58 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich

D-ARCH an der Biennale in Venedig

Main content

Struktur aus Kalkstein_Block Research Group
Struktur aus Kalkstein
© ETH Zürich / Block Research Group

Wie kann Architektur die Lebenssituation von Menschen weltweit verbessern? Mit diesem Thema befasst sich nicht nur die diesjährige Architekturbiennale in Venedig, sondern auch zahlreiche Forschende der ETH Zürich. Nicht zuletzt aus diesem Grund ist die ETH Zürich gleich mit mehreren Installationen und Ausstellungen im Programm der diesjährigen Architekturbiennale in Venedig vertreten:

Professor Philippe Block verknüpft mit seiner Block Research Group historisches Wissen zur Erstellung von Mauergewölben mit modernen Fertigungs- und Konstruktionsmethoden. Daraus entstanden ist die Ausstellung «Beyond Bending», die aufzeigt, wie mit der gezielten Wirkung von Kräften und minimalem Materialverbrauch höchstmögliche Stabilität erreicht werden kann. Zudem ist die Block Research Group mit einem massgeblichen Beitrag am Droneport-Project beteiligt, das von Lord Norman Foster initiiert wurde.

In der Hauptausstellung vertreten sind ausserdem die Professoren Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron und die Gastdozierenden Anna Heringer und Martin Rauch.

Professor Christian Kerez wird neben seinem Beitrag in der Hauptausstellung die Ehre zuteil, den Schweizer Pavillion zu bespielen; sein interdisziplinär ausgerichtetes Projekt «Incidental Space» zeigt neue technologische Möglichkeiten der Architektur auf und hinterfragt gewohnte Denkmuster.

Professor Dirk Hebel präsentiert einen Beitrag in der Ausstellung Time-Space-Existence, einem Rahmenevent der Biennale im Palazzo Mora. Seine Installation zeigt, wie alternative Baumaterialien, wie beispielsweise Bambus oder Pilzstrukturen, unter Beachtung der lokalen Begebenheiten in spezifischen Umgebungen eingesetzt werden können.

Auch die Professoren Alfredo Brillembourg und Hubert Klumpner sind an der diesjährigen Architektubiennale mit der Ausstellung «Sarajevo Now: The People's Museum» vertreten. Die Ausstellung wurde von Urban-Think Tank und Baier Bischofberger in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Historischen Museum von Bosnien Herzegovina realisiert und wird im Arsenale Nord gezeigt.

Die 15. Internationale Architekturausstellung der Biennale Venedig findet vom 28. Mai bis zum 27. November 2016 unter dem Titel «Reporting from the Front» statt. Die künstlerische Leitung obliegt dem chilenischen Architekten Alejandro Aravena.

Mehr zu den Projekten «Beyond Bending», «Droneport» und «Daring Growth» von Philippe Block und Dirk Hebel erfahren Sie in den Hintergrundinformationen der ETH Zürich.
Informationen zum Projekt «Incidental Space» von Christian Kerez finden Sie auf der Webseite von Pro Helvetia.

 
 
URL der Seite: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/lehre-forschung/DARCH_an_biennale_venedig.html
26.04.2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich