Profile

Main content

Illustration ETH Zürich

As the leading Swiss institution of higher education in the technical and natural sciences, ETH Zurich has also proven itself at the highest international level. Its multi- and transdisciplinary orientation and its worldwide connections enable emphasise the main points within sustainable development and to serve as a reliable partner for business, politics and society.

Within this context, the Department of Architecture (D-ARCH) is one of the most highly regarded faculties of architecture in the world. It owes its prominent position to both the high quality of the teaching and the outstanding results of the research. This well-established approach to teaching and research, representing a long tradition, manifests itself in the structure of flexible design studios that work in close cooperation with the institutes, and it is experienced throughout all phases of Bachelor and Master studies at the D-ARCH as a holistic and open programme.

As the most important foundation for the Swiss building tradition, the architectural education owes its success to the fruitful intertwining of the teaching staff’s academic instruction and practical building activity. In its essential significance for the teaching at the D-ARCH, the experience gained by faculty members in their own architectural practices has a long tradition that goes back to the first director of the architecture faculty at ETH Zurich, the prominent intellectual architect and theorist Gottfried Semper.

The teaching of design and construction draws its central impulses from building praxis as well as in-house research. Questions of building praxis and their validation in the context of the built environment, taken together with knowledge gained from basic research, combine to become inseparable themes of architectural education.

The Department of Architecture sets the focus of its research on broadly defined issues pertaining to the built environment. It makes excellent contributions to ETH Zurich’s strategic positions with regard to this important subject from the perspective of architecture and urban design, particularly on the topics of future cities, energy, climate change and sustainability. At the same time, the D-ARCH actively champions:

  • studying the history of architecture to be able to provide information about future developments;
  • continual contemplation about design and building principles;
  • judicious treatment of available resources, beginning with the materials used and extending to efforts in dealing with macro-scale territories on a transnational level;
  • maintaining a dialogue with politicians, industry and professional associations;
  • ensuring a balanced treatment of the existing fabric;
  • and lastly, the Department’s defining task and one that clearly differentiates its teaching and research activities from those of the universities of applied sciences: general exploration of fundamental questions (basic research) in architecture, construction and urban design.
 
 
Page URL: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/en/departement/profil.html
Wed Mar 29 15:11:10 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich

Profil

Main content

D-ARCH Zeichensaal Schlusskritik

Die ETH Zürich als führende Hochschule der Schweiz im Bereich der technischen Wissenschaften und der Naturwissenschaften beweist sich auch international auf höchstem Niveau. Ihre multi- und transdisziplinäre Ausrichtung sowie ihre weltweite Vernetzung befähigen sie, Akzente innerhalb nachhaltiger Entwicklungen zu setzen und als verlässliche Partnerin für Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft einzustehen.

In diesem Kontext zählt das Departement Architektur (D-ARCH) zu den renommiertesten Architekturfakultäten der Welt. Seine herausragende Position verdankt es zum einen der hohen Qualität der Lehre und zum anderen den herausragenden Resultaten in der Forschung. Dieser in langer Tradition bewährte Lehr- und Forschungsansatz offenbart sich in der Struktur freier Entwurfsstudios, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Instituten stehen, und wird am Departement über die Phasen des Bachelor- und Master-Studiums als ganzheitliches und durchlässiges Programm gelebt.

Als wichtigste Grundlage der Schweizer Bautradition verdankt die Architekturlehre ihren Erfolg der fruchtbaren Verschränkung von akademischer Lehr- und praktischer Bautätigkeit der sie tragenden Professorinnen und Professoren. Die Erfahrung im eigenen Architekturbüro hat in ihrer wesentlichen Bedeutung für die Lehre am D-ARCH eine lange Tradition und geht auf den ersten Vorsteher der Architekturfakultät der ETH Zürich, den exponierten intellektuellen Architekten und Theoretiker Gottfried Semper, zurück.

Die Entwurfs- und Konstruktionslehre beziehen ihre zentralen Impulse aus der Baupraxis wie aus der hauseigenen Forschung. Fragen der Baupraxis und deren Bewährung im Kontext der gebauten Umwelt zusammen mit den Erkenntnissen der Grundlagenforschung verbinden sich zu untrennbaren Themen der Architekturausbildung.

Seinen Forschungsschwerpunkt setzt das Departement Architektur auf breit angelegte Fragen der gebauten Umwelt. Es leistet unter diesem besonderen Gesichtspunkt aus architektonischer und städtebaulicher Perspektive exzellente Beiträge zu strategischen Positionen der ETH Zürich, namentlich zu den Themen wie Zukunftsstädte, Energie, Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit. Zugleich engagiert sich das Departement für

  • die Beschäftigung mit der Geschichte der Architektur, um Aufschlüsse über künftige Entwicklungen geben zu können.
  • das ständige Nachdenken über Konstruktions- und Bauprinzipien
  • einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit den vorhandenen Ressourcen – von den verwendeten Materialien über technologiegestützte Energiesysteme und Bauprozesse bis zur übernationalen Auseinandersetzung mit weiträumigen Territorien
  • den Dialog mit der Politik, der Industrie und den Fachverbänden
  • die umfassende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bestand
  • und generell für die Untersuchung grundlegender Fragen (Grundlagenforschung) in den Bereichen Architektur, Konstruktion und Städtebau als Identifikation des Departements.
 
 
URL der Seite: https://www.arch.ethz.ch/departement/profil.html
Thu Jan 19 02:42:29 CET 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich